Banana and Carrot mini muffins

Winter is leaving and Spring is just around the corner. However, the weather has not been good lately. It is warmer, around 8-10 degree Celsius, but it has been cloudy and gloomy. Weather certainly cannot be my excuse to have sweets every single day, especially in February, when everybody is going to the gym and they are working on their new year’s resolutions and trying to get the summer body ready.

Despite all of that, I have my belief and I will always follow it. I do not want to restrict myself to any specific diet, I have done them all and they were totally not for me. I eat everything that I want, but I still try to be healthy from time to time, which is why I came up with this recipe. I baked them in a cupcake pan so then I can practice my portion control, but you can use a muffin pan if you prefer.

This is such an easy recipe to work with, you only need some ripe bananas, a carrot, honey and basic baking ingredients. You can also throw in some toasted chopped walnuts to get more texture. However, I do not like nuts so I just skip that 🙂

INGREDIENTS

  • 150g plain flour
  • 15g baking powder
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3 eggs
  • 1,5-2 ripe bananas
  • 1 grated carrot, the carrot should be around 20cm long
  • 100g honey
  • 1 pinch of salt

METHOD

Preheat your oven to 180 degree Celsius.

Grease a muffin pan or a cupcake pan (like I did), then you can line the cases with parchment paper just to make life easier when you take your lovely muffins out.

Mash the bananas in a large mixing bowl.

Put the grated carrot in, together with 3 eggs and a pinch of salt. Beat them together until combine.

Add honey and vanilla in and give it a quick stir until everything is well combined.

Sift flour and baking powder into our mixing bowl. Fold slowly and gently and do not over mix the batter. It’s gonna be a sticky batter but trust me, the muffins will turn out moist and fluffy.

Spoon the mixture into the prepared cases and bake in the oven for 12 minutes (for cupcake size) or 15-20 minutes (if you use muffin pan)

Check with a toothpick if it comes out clean or you can adjust the baking time for 1-2 minutes, depends on your oven and the size of your baking pans.

Leave a Reply

